top of page

Shorewood seceded from the Town of Milwaukee in 1900 and was known as East Milwaukee until changing to its present name in 1917.

Shorewood is nestled between the Milwaukee River and Lake Michigan, Shorewood is bordered by the City of Milwaukee to the south and west and Whitefish Bay to the north. 

Some of Shorewood landmarks and notable buildings are:

  • Benjamin Church House (also known as Kilbourntown House) — The one-story Greek Revival house was built in 1844 for his family by Benjamin F. Church, a pioneer builder from New York, on N. Fourth Street in the Kilbourntown settlement. In 1938, after significant preservation efforts, the house was moved from its original site to its present location in Estabrook Park in Shorewood. The house was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1972.

  • Hubbard Park — The wooded, terraced park spanning almost 5 acres along the east bank of the Milwaukee River has a colorful history. In its earlier years, the site used for Indian hunting grounds, a resort, a series of amusement parks, fishing shanties, to name a few. It is home to the Hubbard Park Lodge, constructed as a WPA project in 1936. It is also home to Hubbard Park Lodge Restaurant.

  • Shorewood High School campus — The school’s the 19-acre campus, built between 1924 and 1938, includes separate buildings for administration, physical education, arts and science, industrial arts, and theater arts. The auditorium was modeled after the RKO Theater in New York City.

  • Shorewood Village Hall — Originally built as a four-room schoolhouse in 1908, the building was purchased in 1916 by the Village of East Milwaukee for use as a village hall. It was extensively remodeled in 1937 with WPA funds, and again in 1985. The building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

  • WITI TV Tower — Built in 1962, it was once one of the tallest free-standing lattice towers in the world, rising 1,078 feet.

bottom of page